VSO Chamber Orchestra "Classical Winds" Ferguson Center


Join Virginia Symphony Orchestra musicians for a night celebrating two of the greatest composers of all time. As part of the Classical Era, Mozart and Beethoven both contributed to the tradition of “Harmoniemusik,” chamber music written for five to eight wind instruments to entertain aristocrats. Characteristic of his early compositional style, Beethoven’s Sextet has a light-hearted, easy-going tone and gives individual instrumentalists a chance to sparkle with brilliant, virtuosic passage work. Mozart’s superbly crafted Piano Quintet was written during the happiest, most fruitful and prosperous time in his life. After composing it in 1784, he wrote to his father, “I myself consider it to be the best thing I have written in my life.”

Additional Information

What makes this business unique? VSO Chamber Orchestra "Classical Winds"


1 Avenue of the Arts
Newport News, VA

Ferguson Center for the Arts
Theater in Newport News, Virginia

Get Directions


Ferguson Center for the Arts Wednesday, Nov 16, 7:00 pm

Be the first to review this item!

Bookmark this